Distinctive Architecture

Riverside has a rich architectural legacy dating back to 1869. Not only was the Village designed by Frederick Law Olmsted, it also features several structures designed by prominent architects. Contributing architects include:
  • Frank Lloyd Wright
  • Joseph L Silsbee
  • Louis Sullivan
  • R. Harold Zook
  • William Drummond
  • William Le Baron Jenney

More on Frank Lloyd Wright

For those particularly interested in Frank Lloyd Wright's architectural contributions, click on the following link to view the Wright in Riverside pamphlet (PDF).


You also have access to virtual or guided tours, for more information visit our Village Tours and Museum page.


National Landmark Designations

  • Avery Coonley House (designated 1970): One of Frank Lloyd Wright's most famous designs.
  • F.F. Tomek House, (designated 1999): A well-preserved example of a prairie-style home designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.
  • Riverside Historic District (designated 1970): Designed in 1868-69 by Olmsted and Vaux, Riverside was the first planned model community in the country arranged so that open spaces and parkland would be a part of urban living.

Local Landmark Designations

  • Coonley Playhouse, ca. 1913, Frank Lloyd Wright
  • Heilbron Residence, ca. 1936, R. Harold Zook
  • Palmer Residence, ca. 1893, Joseph L. Silsbee
  • Riverside Improvement Company Building, ca. 1871, Frederick C. Withers
  • Thorncroft Residence, ca. 1912, Guenzel and Drummond
  • Riverside Water Tower, ca. 1870, William Le Baron Jenney